Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Bentley University Falcons
146 Northeast-10 Championships
80 CoSIDA Academic All-Americas
2014 NCAA Div. II Women's Basketball National Champs
2001 NCAA Div. II Field Hockey National Champs
Women's Basketball: NCAA Record 35 NCAA tournaments

Dooley, Varsell Lead Bentley to 4th in Ted Owen Invitational

Tara Dooley
Tara Dooley

NEW BRITAIN, Conn. – With junior Tara Dooley (Lee, Mass./Lee HS) and junior Amy Varsell (Burlington, Conn./Lewis S. Mills HS) leading the way, the Bentley University women's cross country team finished fourth among seven teams in Saturday's Ted Owen Invitational, hosted by Central Connecticut State University at Stanley Quarter Park.

Dooley, the defending champion, finished second to Boston University's Rosa Moriello with a time of 17:11, about 24 seconds faster than her winning performance a year ago. Varsell also cracked the top ten, placing seventh in 17:58.

Senior Ashley Nichols (Kenmore, Wash./Inglemoor HS) placed 13th for the Falcons in 18:47, and freshman Danielle Coskren (North Andover/North Andover HS) covered the 5,000-meter course in 20:13 to place 35th of 65.

Bentley, with a score of 81 points, trailed a trio of Division I institutions. Boston University edged the University of Connecticut, 46-49, for team honors, and Bryant University bettered Bentley by four for third place.

Next Saturday, Bentley will run in the Codfish Bowl at Franklin Park.

At Stanley Quarter Park, New Britain, Conn.

Team Scores: 1. Boston University 46, 2. Univ. of Connecticut 49, 3. Bryant 77, 4. Bentley 81, 5. Central Connecticut 132, 6. Hartford 139, 7. Pace 191.

Top Individuals:  1. Rose Moriello, BU, 16:55; 2. Tara Dooley, Bentley, 17:11; 3. Emily Durgin, UConn, 17:17; 4. Nikki Long, BU, 17:30; 5. Brigitte Mania, UConn, 17:46.

Other Bentley Runners: 7. Amy Varsell 17:58; 13. Ashley Nichols 18:47; 35. Danielle Coskren 20:13; 39. Nikki Sirignano 20:55; 43. Leah Schiller 21:23; 48. Kathryn Burke 21:50; 50. Brittany Baudier 22:00; 52. Alix Pettinella 22:03; 53. Emily Normandin 22:30; 58. Arianne Bourgault 23:36; 62. Allison Ehrlich 24:45.